GuildWiki has been locked down: anonymous editing and account creation are disabled. Current registered users are unaffected. Leave any comments on the Community Portal.
GuildWiki:Build vetting procedure/P1
This page documents the procedure currently used on the wiki to help those who are new to the builds process.
New builds[edit source]
Everyone is free to create a new builds article. When using the template in [GuildWiki:Style and formatting/Builds], most builds will start out in the category [Category:Untested builds|untested builds]. Those that lack proper formatting/wording will be moved into category [Category:Build stubs|build stubs].
Discussion and voting[edit source]
After the build arrives in untested builds, people will start noticing and discussing it. At one point someone will put up a Rate-a-Build section on the builds talk page. This is sometimes done right after the build is created, sometimes people wait till the first round of discussion is over.
Everyone can vote for builds with the exception of originating author or contributors that heavily modified the untested build before voting. Voting after testing the build in game and leaving a detailed comment with the vote is preferred, but not needed to make the vote count. According to a vote on the builds talk page, builds are moved to [Category:Tested builds|tested builds] if 3 more people voted favored instead of unfavored. If 3 more vote unfavored, the build is moved to [Category:Unfavored builds|unfavored builds]. If you see a build which is not in the correct category, please change the build's category.
Once a build is favored or unfavored, it can not be moved back into untested (exception: re-voting, see below). However it can still be moved to the other category, if enough people vote for the other category, such that this category now has 3 more people compared to the current one.
If the build has been sufficiently altered to render old votes invalid, sometimes a new vote is called. To do so, archive the old vote, put up a fresh Rate-a-Build section and move the build into untested.
Deletion of builds[edit source]
Builds get put up for deletion if someone feels they are too close to an already existing build. Furthermore, builds get sometimes flagged for deletion if someone feels they are extremely bad. The usual wiki procedure of discussion takes place, but note that especially in the first case, deletion might be swift.
Abandoned builds[edit source]
If a build in untested or unfavored has not seen work on it in several weeks, it might be put into [:Category:Abandoned|Abandoned]. Builds there will be deleted after a (longer) period of time if no new work on them is done.
Build categories[edit source]
All build categories with the exception of Build stubs/Abandoned/Untested/Unfavored are reserved for builds which are also in the [Category:Tested builds|tested builds] category. Builds in one of the aforementioned four categories should not be in any other builds category at the same time.
Archived builds[edit source]
Builds that are no longer viable, but are kept for historical reasons are put into category [Category:Archived builds|archived builds].
Featured builds[edit source]
The build portal currently has 2 featured build slots. The first, Current featured build, is reserved for tested builds. The second Featured Untested Build for immediate evaluation is for untested builds. Since there is currently no process comparable to wikipedia's featured articles, every registered user can change the featured builds. To prevent too frequent changes, users are asked only to change the featured tested build every 7 days, and the untested build upon evaluation of the previous one.